REVIEW: V is for Villain by Peter Moore

V is for Villain by Peter Moore
Published by Disney Hyperion on 20th May 2014
Pages: 336

Brad Baron is used to looking lame compared to his older brother, Blake. Though Brad's basically a genius, Blake is a superhero in the elite Justice Force. And Brad doesn't measure up at his high school, either, where powers like super-strength and flying are the norm. So when Brad makes friends who are more into political action than weight lifting, he's happy to join a new crew-especially since it means spending more time with Layla, a girl who may or may not have a totally illegal, totally secret super-power. And with her help, Brad begins to hone a dangerous new power of his own.

But when they're pulled into a web of nefarious criminals, high-stakes battles, and startling family secrets, Brad must choose which side he's on. And once he does, there's no turning back.

Perfect for fans of The AvengersIronman, and classic comic books, V is for Villain reveals that it's good to be bad.
I have always loved novels and films about (teen) superheroes, and straight away when I read the synopsis, I had to read it. It reminded me a bit of one of my favourite films as a child which was Sky High; I absolutely loved that film! I love the cover, especially the hardcover as their are so many different textures, it truly stands out.

Brad Baron is the younger brother of Blake Baron, one of the most famous superheroes of all time. Blake is strong, fearless and is a born hero. His younger brother Bard is considered anything but. The opposite of his hero brother, Brad has super intelligence but its not enough for him to become a hero, and so he is enrolled in the Alternative Program. But the last thing he expects to happen, is to join a new team and consider which side he is really fighting for.

The characters of this novel were fun but serious. Though they do things that maybe one would not agree with, when immersed in this world, their opinions and political views are fascinating alongside the lengths they would go to to make people understand. Brad was an intriguing protagonist, I loved the twist with his superpower and felt it really added the spark this novel needed. It was the relationship between himself and his older brother Blake. It was sad to see two brothers fight but this is what really gave the tension in this novel.

The plot was just so action-packed, informative and thrilling. The ideas presented were intriguing and had me captivated the whole time, alongside learning about all the types of superpowers and how one goes about using them. I felt the one thing about this novel that helped it to stand out was that you were reading from the perspective of a villain, not a hero. Brad being a villain really gave the novel the spark, becoming captivating to see their teams perspective and how far they would go to make things right. The back stories and history in this novel were brilliant. The details of the evolvement of the villains was a unique twist and one I did not expect, alongside the format and quotes in this novel as you went along some-what tells you what will happen but not directly; it really teases you.

Therefore V is for Villain is a unique novel that was incredibly explosive and will certainly have you craving a sequel.


No comments :

Post a Comment

I love to hear your thoughts, so please leave a comment as you pass by... I don't bite!