[BLOG TOUR & GIVEAWAY] REVIEW: Trust Me, I'm Lying by Mary Elizabeth Summer


 Trust Me, I'm Lying by Mary Elizabeth Summer
Published by Delacorte Press on 14th October 2014
Pages: 336
Source: *Received in exchange for an honest review*

Fans of Ally Carter, especially her Heist Society readers, will love this teen mystery/thriller with sarcastic wit, a hint of romance, and Ocean’s Eleven–inspired action.

Julep Dupree tells lies. A lot of them. She’s a con artist, a master of disguise, and a sophomore at Chicago’s swanky St. Agatha High, where her father, an old-school grifter with a weakness for the ponies, sends her to so she can learn to mingle with the upper crust. For extra spending money Julep doesn’t rely on her dad—she runs petty scams for her classmates while dodging the dean of students and maintaining an A+ (okay, A-) average.

But when she comes home one day to a ransacked apartment and her father gone, Julep’s carefully laid plans for an expenses-paid golden ticket to Yale start to unravel. Even with help from St. Agatha’s resident Prince Charming, Tyler Richland, and her loyal hacker sidekick, Sam, Julep struggles to trace her dad’s trail of clues through a maze of creepy stalkers, hit attempts, family secrets, and worse, the threat of foster care. With everything she has at stake, Julep’s in way over her head . . . but that’s not going to stop her from using every trick in the book to find her dad before his mark finds her. Because that would be criminal.
Addictive, page-turning and smart. Trust Me, I'm Lying will certainly leave a positive lasting impression; a definite read for all Ally Carter fans like myself! I love the cover. So dark and mysterious, with the use of the shadows and necklace really capture your eye.

Julep Dupree is a grifter. An expert in her profession, Julep only learnt from the best… until he goes missing and she finds her apartment turned upside down. With the leader trying to find and capture her, Julep recruits her best friend and hacker Sam alongside the charmingly popular Tyler to help her find her Dad whilst uncovering stalkers, family secrets and a herd of criminals.

"Your story is your best offence; your disguise is your best defense."
Trust Me, I'm Lying by Mary Elizabeth Summer

Julep Dupree was a smart, witty and yet easily likeable character. Julep was a female protagonist who did not rely on anyone else, and though her actions were not always lawful, she had the best intentions to help out those around her. Julep thought carefully through most of her plans which showed maturity and thoughtfulness.What I liked most about her character through the progression of the novel, is she began to find her true self.

"When you can be anybody, you become nobody."
Trust Me, I'm Lying by Mary Elizabeth Summer

The plot of this novel was fast-pace with a gallon of twists and turns that grab your attention. Alongside this, there was danger and action but most importantly I loved how their actions were not what you expected. I also loved the change in motives and secrets revealed near the end, I felt this added a more serious edge to the novel as the circumstances were of more of a realistic setting. The con theme to this novel was certainly fascinating; there are fake ID's, hacking and much more.

This is a highly addictive novel, perfect for fans of Ally Carter; Mary Elizabeth Summer is certainly an author to watch!



Mary Elizabeth Summer is an instructional designer, a mom, a champion of the serial comma, and a pie junkie. Oh, and she sometimes writes books about teenage delinquents saving the day. She lives in Portland, Oregon with her daughter, her partner, and her evil overlor–er, cat. TRUST ME, I'M LYING, a YA mystery, will be released by Delacorte in Fall 2014.



a Rafflecopter giveaway

No comments :

Post a Comment

I love to hear your thoughts, so please leave a comment as you pass by... I don't bite!